Tell us who you are. Old veteran, young newbie, just passing by, or here
to stay!
Peter IAUS
Beginner
Beginner

Post by Peter IAUS »

Hi to all the CJ enthusiasts out there.
My name is Peter and I am a new member from Tasmania. Yes, it is a real place! It is a state of Australia and it is an island positioned just south of the mainland.
I have been an audio hobbiest since my teens(now 62).
My first question and probably not a rare one regards the Premier 8XS amps. I have been enjoying them for twenty years but like many I'm hankering for a worthwhile improvement. Probably my last before the ears hearing starts deteriorating!
Are they worthwhile upgrading with new capacitors? This is quite an expensive mod and I would like to know how they would compare with contemporary amps after the upgrade. Also, does anyone know how the V-cap mod(I think this is a Bill Thallman mod) compares to the factory modification?
Thanks in advance,
Peter
admin
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: New member

Post by admin »

Hi Peter,
Welcome to CJO. Wonderful to have you with us, and I think our first member from Tasmania.

As for the upgrade question, that is really hard to answer. New caps would surely improve the sound considering the Premier 8's age. However, putting that cost toward a more modern unit may offer a greater improvement in performance.
-admin
Home Theater in Member Gallery
Main stereo: ART Amplifier and ET7s2. 2nd stereo: PV-14L and MV-55. Previously Owned: PF2 preamp, Evolution 2000 Amp, PV-12AL preamp, D/A-2b Vacuum-Tube Digital Processor.
Big Dog RJ
Ultimate
Ultimate

Post by Big Dog RJ »

G'day mate, greetings from Melb!

Welcome to CJO.