one channel is out

The PV-1 to now...
Lotto
Regular
Regular

one channel is out

Post by Lotto »

its very faint but its not working i replaced both tubes still not working im a novice what else should i do>
pv15
AnotherJohnson
Ultimate
Ultimate

Re: one channel is out

Post by AnotherJohnson »

If you’re sure it’s the PV15, you might check the fuses (specifically F1 or F2).

From the manual:

Fuses
The PV15 has two power transformers each of which is protected by a fuse. These fuses (F1 and F2) are located on the main pc board near the transformers. There is also an ac mains fuse (F3) located in the ac mains inlet socket on the back of the unit. A fail- ure of any of these fuses is a symptom of a more serious problem, and a competent service technician should be consulted. In no event should a fuse be replaced with a value or type different than that originally supplied. Correct fuse values are:
If configured for 100 or 120V:
F1 3AG type 3/4 amp, slow blow
F2 3AG type 1/2 amp, fast blow
F3 5 x 20mm T800 (800 ma slow blow)

You can determine if it’s really the PV15 by trial and error.

Swap the interconnects to the amp, and if the problem moves, it’s in the PV 15 or the source. If it doesn’t move, it’s in the amp or the speakers.
It’s just stuff. I like mine. I hope you like yours. I probably like yours too.
roberto
Ultimate
Ultimate

Post by roberto »

Hola, as AnotherJohnson said, it might be another thing. Did you check the RCA cable? Sometime a bad cable could produce a bad channel. Or, from the turntable, CD player.

When you turn on the pre, are both filaments of the tubes lit?...just guessing a possible cause.

Fuses are for both channels protection. If a fuse fails, both channels will not work.

We need more info...is the bad channel totally dead? Is there any hissing noise?