Converting MV60 to Triode

Discuss and chat about all things Conrad Johnson.
rmac587
Regular
Regular

Converting MV60 to Triode

Post by rmac587 »

Hi Folks,
I’m relatively new to CJ, and I must say I now have all the fanaticism of a recent convert. I was lucky to acquire a MV60 a couple of days ago and I’m enjoying it immensely (I also have a PV10 on hand and a PV5 on the way).

I’d like to wire the 60 for triode, however. I’m fairly handy with a soldering iron, although not a wizard, and I don’t relish the idea of packing this beast all the way across the continent to do a simple conversion if I can do it on my own bench by moving a couple of jumpers and addressing a couple of capacitors, etc.

I’m sure the information is out there, but for some reason I’m not finding it. Can anyone offer me straight forward instructions on this?
Much Obliged, Rmac587
roberto
Ultimate
Ultimate

Re: Converting MV60 to Triode

Post by roberto »

Hola rmac587,

The newer models, the technical info is not available for the users. Why? There are a lot of counterfeit in the past..so for the newer models this info is not available.

You could address your questions direct to service@conradjohnson.com but with much respect, the MV-60 is a jewel as it is. The wide stage presentation, the timbre, the right dynamics, the transparency, the easy listening for any kind of music is marvellous.

To do that conversion, is going to cost an arm and a leg.

Happy listening!
ML CLX BF-210 Stage X Motion 4. CJ 120SE amp ET7V2 pre, Holo May Kte Dac. Mac Pro. Power Cond. BPT Signature+ 3.5, Gaia II Feet. USB Lush^V3. Nordost SPM IC and Spk. Shun Mook, BCanto CD2 CD3. Linn LP-12/Unitrack tonearm/Denon DL103R MC.
Big Dog RJ
Ultimate
Ultimate

Post by Big Dog RJ »

Hey Robbo mate,
Hope you're keeping well and enjoying those fine tunes!

Just came across this post: I've owned both versions of the MV60/SE, my understanding is that the MV60 comes standard as triode mode, operating the output stage with EL34's.