Premier Four tube recommendations

From tubes to solid state.
RobertaZ
Regular
Regular

Premier Four tube recommendations

Post by RobertaZ »

My beast needs some new tubes and I was wondering what owners of that amp are using. I used to have problems with the EL34 tubes burning out and taking related parts out as well. My techie recommended using SEC Winged C's which I have been using for a few years without incident.

Are there other better tubes that folks would recommend for this amp? I am obviously looking at those which will not fry the amp - so opinions from owners of the Premier Four would be most appreciated!

R

P.S. Does anyone know what brands C-J uses as the stock tubes for this amp?
RobertaZ
Regular
Regular

Re: Premier Four tube recommendations

Post by RobertaZ »

Anyone?
Tommd
Regular
Regular

Post by Tommd »

Sorry for my late reaction. I,ve got the CJ premier four for more than 25 years now and i,ve got excellent experience with TungSol El 34 tubes or General Electric 6ca7. Youre choice depands on the type of speaker..
roberto
Ultimate
Ultimate

Post by roberto »

Hola RobertaZ,

What I do is when I am adjusting the bias, once I have over 30 minutes of listening to the music, I stop the music and re-adjust the bias for each tube. When the LED goes of, I bring 1/4 turn counterclockwise the adjusting bias screw. This makes to have a little less bias, and I will sacrifice a little power (the final watts of each tube). This way, I do save them for more time of use. There is not way to tell if you did this. My ears do not detect any sound quality variation with more bias. I do trust in my ears. They are the final judges of my system quality.

Happy listening!
ML CLX BF-210 Stage X Motion 4. CJ 120SE amp ET7V2 pre, Holo May Kte Dac. Mac Pro. Power Cond. BPT Signature+ 3.5, Gaia II Feet. USB Lush^V3. Nordost SPM IC and Spk. Shun Mook, BCanto CD2 CD3. Linn LP-12/Unitrack tonearm/Denon DL103R MC.
Capt.Willard
Regular
Regular

Post by Capt.Willard »