Tell us who you are. Old veteran, young newbie, just passing by, or here
to stay!
Neilert
Regular
Regular

New CJ 11a

Post by Neilert »

Hello from Kansas!

I'm new to the audio world, but have wanted to participate for around 20 years.

Just set up a Conrad Johnson Premier 11a in my home office and LOVE it.

For now I'm using a Schiit Valhalla II as a tube preamp/ volume control, and ordered a Schiit Mani as a phono stage for a 1981 Oracle turntable. Can't wait to hook it up!

I will have many questions-

Big Dog RJ
Ultimate
Ultimate

Re: New CJ 11a

Post by Big Dog RJ »

G'day Neilert,

Outstanding! Prem11A is a wonderful power amp. When matched with an equally good preamp, the synergy is simply superb. Really like you TT, Oracle is totally cool stuff- enjoy!

Many years ago (around 2000/2001), I was using a Prem11A with a PFR and subsequently a PV12 to drive a pair of Mangneplanars-MG3.5/R. Although the 70 watts delivered from the Prem11A didn't seem adequate to drive a pair of large ribbons, the musicality was outstanding. It was able to drive the maggies within limits and did a remarkable job with the soundstage. Prior to this I had just taken delivery of a MF2300, which was able to drive the maggies with ease and greater control in the bass. However, it didn't have that lush mid-range, airy highs and smooth sort of rounded bass. After that I bi-amped, using the MF2300 for bass & the Prem11A for mids/highs to drive the panel. Sound quality improved, better dynamics, impact, transient control etc., but again that full well-balanced overall presentation was lacking compared to driving the maggies with the Prem11A entirely on its own. Eventually the MF2300 was sold off to a chap who had a pair of Infinities, that was a far better match, the Infinities acted like it had finally met a long lost partner.

The Prem11A is also a beautiful looking amp, truly a work of art. I currently have a Classic 60SE, and it is butt ugly!