Hello from New Jersey

Tell us who you are. Old veteran, young newbie, just passing by, or here
to stay!
m_boone
Beginner
Beginner

Hello from New Jersey

Post by m_boone »

Hello, I'm a proud middle aged owner of a PV10 for a little over a year now and I have to say it has turned out to be the greatest audio upgrade that I have ever made. Second to that comes my KEF 103.2 speakers which I must say compliment each other greatly. I have two Marantz SM80 amplifiers; one powering the KEFs and the other powering Pioneer HPM-100s with low pass filters so they act as subs. My sources include an external DAC from my computer or SACD player.

I will waste no time in asking my first question and thus proving that I am a novice, if I haven't done that already :). I am going to purchase my first turntable soon and I believe that I have read somewhere that the PV10 has normal polarity at the phono stage (non-inverted). I currently have the speaker outputs swapped at my amplifiers (- to red and + to black) in accordance with my system but what do I do when I hook up my turntable? Also, does it matter if my turntable has a MMC or MCC cartridge?
Joe Appierto
Pro Master
Pro Master

Re: Hello from New Jersey

Post by Joe Appierto »

Yes, the PV-10 is non-inverting out of the phono stage and has 48.5 dB gain (18 dB out of its line stage). If you feel confident enough to do this yourself, you could swap the pin leads on the cartridge so that they're out of phase. I had the PV-10A and when I had a turntable hooked up never did that and quite frankly couldn't tell the difference even though it was out of phase. I would think that even using an MC cartridge you should have sufficient gain although you may have to crank it up a bit. Having very quiet tubes (the two 12AX7's and the single 12AT7 used in the phono stage) would be a definite plus in this case. I'd think that as long as you don't use a really low out MC cartridge (< 1 mV), you should be okay.
Oppo BDP-105D and PSA DS DAC