Tell us who you are. Old veteran, young newbie, just passing by, or here
to stay!
C1ear
Regular
Regular

Hello from Wisconsin

Post by C1ear »

Hello,
I am new to the world of CJ equipment. I recently acquired an MV 100 and a premier 4 amp. The 4 is at a Tec right now being tuned up. The mv100 is warming up my living space. Preamplification is being handled by my beloved premier 3, and is driving a pair of ar3a's. My plan is to build a set of modern three ways (with the help of madisound, which is right down the street). I will bi-amp those with a couple hundred pounds of vintage CJ!! I love the old AR's, but I am leaving so much on the table with 45 year old technology. Any suggestions on a 3 way kit?? Thanks, and I'm glad to be here.
admin
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Hello from Wisconsin

Post by admin »

Hi C1ear,
Welcome to the site. Great to have you with us. Congrats on the mv100 and premier 3, very nice.

Is there a reason why you are going for a DIY speaker? Not to say that is bad,... but high-end speaker design is pretty hard. I don't think some cheap woofers off of parts express is the way to go. Higher quality parts, of course, cost more money but then you are in the range of buying from an established brand. If you are looking to save some money, I would recommend magnepan. I'm a big fan of planar speakers and they have some very inexpensive (and expensive) offerings. If you are trying to keep the budget ultra-low, maybe a set of Hsu Research bookshelf speakers?

Again, welcome to our community.
-admin
Home Theater in Member Gallery
Main stereo: ART Amplifier and ET7s2. 2nd stereo: PV-14L and MV-55. Previously Owned: PF2 preamp, Evolution 2000 Amp, PV-12AL preamp, D/A-2b Vacuum-Tube Digital Processor.
C1ear
Regular
Regular

Post by C1ear »

Thanks for the welcome.