Trying different tubes in MV-52

From tubes to solid state.
sailpoint
Beginner
Beginner

Trying different tubes in MV-52

Post by sailpoint »

Hi guys,

I am brand new to this forum. I recently purchased a MV-52 in excellent condition that is using electro harmonix el34 tubes. I understand why people love tubes. Listening to this amp I am astounded how beautiful vocals and midrange instruments sound with it :) But I do have one wish though in that the bass performance is definitely rolled off with this amp. I had read on other boards that the CJ amp's sound can change dramatically with different tubes. I've read that 6550 tubes offer better bass performance and I wanted to try them out. Because I'm brand new to tubes I'm reading up on this now and wanted to ask if it is okay to use 6550 tubes in my MV-52? Also is it worthwhile to replace the other tubes in the amp as well from a sonic perspective? I listen to mostly rock and jazz and though I love the warm midrange, I do miss my bass and am looking for a better balance in the sound.

Thanks!
Joe Appierto
Pro Master
Pro Master

Re: Trying different tubes in MV-52

Post by Joe Appierto »

The MV-52 was designed to use EL-34 tubes and you shouldn't use 6550 in their place. The electrical characteristics of the two are totally different. The 5751 and 6CG7/6FQ7 small signal tubes will affect the amp's sound depending on what you place in those positions. What brands are in there now? Hopefully someone knowledgeable about this amp will chime in. I've owned the Premier 11A and 140 models but not yours.

Another thought. This amp is about 35 years old and its capacitors most likely have a useful life of 20 years, maximum. Do you know if any work has been done to replace any of its internal parts? If not, this might be where you want to start.
Oppo BDP-105D and PSA DS DAC
C-J CA200
Polk T50
In-Akustik Exzellenz Cat 6, Kimber IC, Q-Audio SC, Blue Circle and Acrolink power cords; PSA Juice Bar and Duet PLC
sailpoint
Beginner