From tubes to solid state.
brettMc
Beginner
Beginner

Looking to purchase CONRAD JOHNSON MF-2250 or new MF2275

Post by brettMc »

Hello,

First post here.

My name is Brett, I'm a Visual FX professional and clumsy budding audiophile who lives and works in Burbank.

I love music. It is the only thing in my life where I routinely experience something 'transcendent', 'spiritual'...holy. It can be truly magical, meditative and often an erasure of 'self'. When everything is working properly ones critical mind drops away and a merging of you and the sound occurs, wonder ensues appreciating all the incredible minute decisions made and perfect performances captured, resulting in a cohesive flowing moment whose parts fuse into a much greater whole--a boundless experience. I love it. And I wish I could convince more people to invest the time and money to bring so much beautiful music into their lives.

My room is 14x20. My goal is a system that never produces listening fatigue, has an expansive and detailed soundstage where the speakers vanish, a system that will work well with recordings from all eras and genre--from 40' and 50's big band, to 60's jazz. But my wheelhouse is progressive rock and 60's and 70's rock in general. I NEED A SYSTEM THAT MAKES PETER GABRIEL'S MUSIC LESS SIBILANT and THE BEATLES MUSIC LESS HARSH/FLAT.

I am considering a new CJ MF2275 or used MF-2250. What do you all think?

My current gear list is as follows (please no laughing):
-ModWright Oppo BDP-105 (an excellent and very versatile primary source, spatially superb, maybe a bit too syrupy, maybe a bit too slow and yes, maybe too analog for my tastes)
-Audio Technica AT-PL120 Turntable with AT440MLa cart and stylus (gotta start somewhere...ouch)
-Music Hall dac 25.3 (hardly used now that I have the Oppo)
-Integra DPC-8.5 (only changer in the world that can shuffle discs of multiple mixed hi-res formats DVD-A, HDCD, SACD)
-Emotiva USP-1 Preamp (seems to work well enough)