PV10 to PV10A output stage convertion

The PV-1 to now...
rdl1970
Beginner
Beginner

PV10 to PV10A output stage convertion

Post by rdl1970 »

Hallo to everybody.

My idea is to lower the output gain (38 dB) of my PV 10 so that i can rotate my volume pot over 8 o'clock position! :D

I studied the output stages of the PV 10 and PV 10A and realized that the only difference is that the 5751 and 12AT7 tubes of the PV10 has been replaced with two 12AU7 (within a couple resistors and caps).
You can check this in the attached schematics and part list.

Is there anybody that tried and succeded to do this?

Any suggestion?

Thank you in advance.

Regards

Roberto
Attachments
PV10 parts list.pdf
(365.51 KiB) Downloaded 139 times
pv10a-lista.pdf
(127.24 KiB) Downloaded 134 times
PV10.pdf
(438.88 KiB) Downloaded 139 times
admin
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: PV10 to PV10A output stage convertion

Post by admin »

Haven't tried it myself as I don't own the unit. However, a simple solution would be to use an RCA plug attenuator. Not sure what the effect it would have on sound quality but it's an easy way to lower the volume on the cable connection side.

I added the files you posted to our master database of schematics/manuals/etc, thanks!
-admin
Home Theater in Member Gallery
Main stereo: ART Amplifier and ET7s2. 2nd stereo: PV-14L and MV-55. Previously Owned: PF2 preamp, Evolution 2000 Amp, PV-12AL preamp, D/A-2b Vacuum-Tube Digital Processor.
jeffreybehr
Master Apprentice
Master Apprentice

Post by jeffreybehr »

Roberto, your goal is valid--almost all home-amplification systems have too much gain and hence too much overload and noise. C-j writes that the line section of the '10 has 31.5dB of Voltage gain; http://www.conradjohnson.com/It_just_so ... -PV10.html